Pop songs and cancelled plans

All developing countries look to the West for inspiration. In particular, the U.S. is supposed to be a shining example of what others should strive for (though maybe not for long if you listen to this). In particular, I am thinking about woman’s rights. But even in the US, there is still an undercurrent of male chauvinism, often in the most public of places.

I was reminded of this today while listening to music on youtube. I’m about a year behind (okay it’s probably a lot longer than that) in current music trends, but this song has nearly 39 MILLION hits on youtube, so it’s kind of hard to miss. It’s by Katy Perry and Kanye West.

Kiss me, ki-ki-kiss me
Infect me with your love and
Fill me with your poison
Take me, ta-ta-take me
Wanna be a victim
Ready for abduction

Wanna be a victim? Not particularly. Ready for abduction? Definitely not. If you’ve been reading the news about recent research development on sexual assaults on college campuses (see here:  and here) then these lyrics are particularly pertinent. And then in Lady Gaga’s song “Just Dance” there are the all-too familiar lyrics that promotes really irresponsible behavior (god I’m sounding like a stuffy school teacher now):

I’ve had a little bit too much
All of the people start to rush.
Start to rush babe.
A dizzy twister dance
Can’t find my drink or man.
Where are my keys, I lost my phone.
What’s going on on the floor?
I love this record baby,
but I can’t see straight anymore.
Keep it cool what’s the name of this club?
I can’t remember but it’s alright, alright.
[Chorus:] Just dance.
Gonna be okay.
Just dance.
Spin that record babe.
Just dance.
Gonna be okay.
Dance.Dance. Dance.
Just dance.

And one of the catchiest recent songs (okay, “recent” – again, I’ve been out of the country for a year): Tik Tok by Ke$ha pretty much says the same thing:

Ain’t got a care in world, but got plenty of beer
Ain’t got no money in my pocket, but I’m already here
And now, the dudes are lining up cause they hear we got swagger
But we kick em to the curb unless they look like Mick Jagger
I’m talking about everybody getting crunk, crunk
Boys tryin’ to touch my junk, junk
Gonna smack him if he getting too drunk, drunk

And let’s not forget Britney Spear’s hit, “I’m a slave for you.” Yeah. Great. Gotta love our female role models out there.

The worst part is that….these songs are really good. I mean the music is really good. Ughh. I don’t know. These things just get me down and have been on my mind for a while…now, back to the real stuff: Since this blog is supposed to be about India and not my random rants…

Sometimes the Indian tendency to be flakey is really irritating, but sometimes it’s really a good thing. This weekend one of my friends who works just outside of Delhi had invited me to go on a camping/white water rafting trip with some of his colleagues. He told me about it three weeks ago, then two weeks ago, then last week. Assured me everything was being organized. They I asked him about it yesterday and he said….”ahh, yes….maybe we will reschedule it for some other time.” Mudlub (meaning): not going to happen. I was secretly terrified of the whole white water rafting idea, but determined not to miss out on an outing. But I guess that’s not going to happen anymore.

I was also supposed to go with one of the girls in the lab today to visit her sister at the hospital that she works at. The sister is a doctor and had offered to show me around, talk to me about her experiences, etc. But I came into lab and for some reason she had to reschedule. Oh well. I just hope it happens eventually, since it’s such a great opportunity!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pop songs and cancelled plans

  1. Peter says:

    The most popular singers are business people; their goal is $$$, even if they keep talking to the press about their “art”. The way to change their behavior is to penalize them financially, by generating negative press, by showing very publically our disapproval of their values and their music. Music is more than just a nice sound; it is intellectual, it is political, it is a whole package of sense/meaning that generates a reaction.
    If there were some way via the internet to propagate a message of disapproval against these performers, not from old folgies who do not buy their tracks, but from young hip consumers who are buying lots of music, such a set of propagated messages, if it generates press, will guide Kanye West and her peers, and will modify their behavior.
    But how do you do that?

  2. Kim says:

    And you are so right about the song lyrics. Why do young females artists write, produce and sing songs about intentional victimisation?

    Rhianna’s S&M is another catchy example and sadly she was physically assaulted by her boyfriend, rapper/bad boy Chris Brown, on the way to the Grammys (he choked her in his car after threatening to kill her…Rhianna black out and Prince Charming fled the scene of the crime…). Oh and he also busted her lip, left bite marks on her and bruised her face.

    Female artists should take a stance. Abuse of any sort shouldn’t be sold through songs as an enviable lifestyle to anyone, especially to young women and men, no matter how much money it generates.

Leave a Reply

